About us

Connect. Exchange. Innovate.

Get to know us

The IDEA League, a strategic alliance between five leading European universities of science and technology, believes that we have the power to shape the future. By joining forces, we will create valuable connections that inspire innovation and the pursuit of ambitious goals.

Through cross-border, bottom-up collaboration, we provide the environment for students, researchers and staff at our partner universities to share a collective wealth of knowledge, experience and resources. By doing so, we aim to connect and inspire a new generation of European science and technology graduates, champion innovation and entrepreneurship and steer Europe towards a more competitive and compassionate future.

Meet our members

Each member of the IDEA League strategic alliance is an internationally renowned, research-oriented university and is one of the largest producers of science and engineering graduates in its own country. Meet our current members:


Mekelweg 5, 2628 CD Delft
The Netherlands


Rämistrasse 101, 8092 Zurich


Templergraben 55, 52062 Aachen


Maskingränd 2, 412 58 Göteborg


Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32, 20133 Milano

IDEA League office


Mekelweg 4, 2628 CD Delft
The Netherlands

The Secretary General

J. Leslie Zachariah-Wolff

IDEA League

IDEA League’s leadership team is representative of our collaborative nature. Our Board of Rectors includes the heads of the five member universities and their deputies, and our Operations Board is comprised of faculty and staff from each university. Presently, the Secretary General, Dr. J. Leslie Zachariah-Wolff and the IDEA League Office are seated at TU Delft.

The Board of Rectors

Günther Dissertori

ETH Zürich

Donatella Sciuto

Politecnico di Milano

Tim van der Hagen

TU Delft

Ulrich Rüdiger

Current President of the IDEA League
RWTH Aachen

Martin Nilsson Jacobi

Chalmers University of Technology

The Operations Board

Francesca Andrich

Politecnico di Milano

Henriette Finsterbusch

RWTH Aachen

Christoph Niedermann

ETH Zurich

Marieke Wolthuis

TU Delft

Karolina Strandsäter

Chalmers University of Technology

Jörgen Sjöberg

Chalmers University of Technology
(† 2023-03-30)

Connecting our student councils

IDEALiSTiC connects the student councils of our partner universities, strengthening the impact of IDEA League’s programmes and ideals through our student leaders.

IDEALiStiC promotes awareness and understanding of the IDEA League among students by starting new initiatives, provides support and advice to the IDEA League in matters of educational policy and student welfare, and attempts to improve policies on educational issues and student representation by exchanging best practices.

IDEALiStiC holds two conferences a year, during which new initiatives are brainstormed. The ideas decided upon are translated into reality through the rest of the year.

IDEALiSTiC Website

Our sister network

ASPIRE League is our sister network of Asian Science and Technology Pioneering Institutes of Research and Education. We aim to connect with any members of the ASPIRE League as much as possible.

Aspire league